Skip to content

Push-up bras & sneak previews

12/07/2009
tags: ,

Want Santa to bring you 2 additional cup sizes this holiday season? All you have to do is buy the new miraculous push-up bra by Victoria’s Secret. Now, call me picky, but this seems a bit of an untruth. I don’t think that Santa or any heavenly host is going to grow my breasts overnight just so that I can put on that sexy black whatever and look fabulous. This is what I would call a definite sleight of hand.

I’m not being a grinch here. I’m in favor of hair coloring, make-up, slimming colors, and an occasional high heel shoe (though preferably on someone else). Men and women should be able to dress up and down whichever way they want. But leaving aside the question of free will (after all, can anyone know what they really want in a consumerist & gender-bound culture?), this push-up seems over the top of untruth. Everyone understands that make-up comes off and 4 inch heels mean you’re really 4 inches shorter – but what are you gonna say when the cleavage you present to the world turns out to be fake? Pardon my preaching, but I’m reminded of this totally paraphrased, quasi-greeting card saying here: If you tell the truth, then you never have to remember what version of the story you told to whom.

Enough with that. I just found out that one of my poems has been accepted on Scribblers on the Roof, a quite cool place for Jewish fiction & poetry. The poem takes place well into the book of Exodus (you’ll recognize the scene) and I offer the link here just in case you want to skip ahead.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Herb Solomon permalink
    12/10/2009 6:53 pm

    Hi Sue: Congratulations: the literary world is discovering Susan’s secret. Herb

    • sue swartz permalink*
      12/10/2009 7:11 pm

      Thanks. I’ll take the literary world and leave the world of lingerie to someone else!

Leave a Reply

