Skip to content

End of the year grab bag

09/27/2010
tags:

How is this possible? A year ago – give or take a few days – I launched Awkward Offerings in the hope that I would find an audience for some of my Torah-inspired poetry and a way to sound off about related topics.

As of today — I kid you not! — this site has received exactly 5400 hits. That’s five thousand and four hundred: 300 X 18/chai. Three hundred good lucks! I can barely stand it. To celebrate this milestone, I’m revisiting some of the high points of the last year. Hold on to your hats!

Basic stats:

82 posts
277 comments
549 spam comments from which I’ve been protected
45 poems shared

The posting that got the most hits features a gorgeous Jewish-themed tattoo (see Tatto Envy) and my musings about how (not) brave I am with my little itty bitty amount of ink. See the fabulous photo and you’ll see what I mean. Really.

The posting that received the most commentsconcerned lashon hara, commonly translated as gossip. Just what is forbidden speech? When does honesty go too far? Are there times when we are required to go public with what we know? The comments are far more interesting than the posting. Check it out.

The post that spoke most to my heart was about the Luz Bone:

In the Jewish tradition, there is a legend… every person has a small bone in his body called the luz, located at the tip of the spine, which enfolds the essence of a person’s soul… Even if the entire human body is shattered, crushed, or burned, the luz bone does not perish. It stores a person’s uniqueness, the core of his selfhood…

I’ve thought about this quote from Israeli writer David Grossman many times in the weeks since, what with my middle aged sacroiliac going out of whack on a regular basis — thought what got me was the notion that deep in my body is this thing unbound by time.

The poetry/ weekly Torah portion post that got the most hits concerned Leviticus, a.k.a., the Book of Blood & Guts. It also got me a sweet little free publicity in the Union of Reform Judaism’s magazine.

And that, my friends, are the stats. More important, of course, is the community, the conversation, the challenge of making it happen week after week (and despite travel plans, allergy attacks, and family demands). You know I couldn’t do it without you.

I’ll keep posting if you keep reading.

If you keep reading, tell your friends and loved ones (and strangers on the street). Let’s see if we can get up to 5400 hits in half the time this time around. Wouldn’t that be something?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah Rubin permalink
    09/27/2010 9:48 pm

    Thank you for a great year of Torah! Chazak chazak … may you continue to go from strength to strength, as you bring strength through your Torah wrestling!

  2. 09/28/2010 6:02 pm

    Mazel tov on this milestone!

Leave a Reply

